APA study: effects of psychological abuse just as bad as sexual & physical abuse

I just stumbled on this study from the American Psychological Association (APA), which was published in Science Daily last year, and I thought it was well worth sharing. According to the researchers, their evidence supports the idea that child neglect and psychological abuse are just as psychologically harmful as (and in some cases are more harmful than) the effects of sexual and physical abuse. I agree.

One thought on “APA study: effects of psychological abuse just as bad as sexual & physical abuse

  1. Very interesting study. I am the victim of child abuse. My father drove drunk with me in the car, and in fact forced me to.

    Did it scar me for life? No, it did not, for the most part. At the time I was scared that a) my father would get caught or b) that we would die. I was re-victimized when CYS here in PA dropped the investigation. It wasn’t nearly anything to mess me up for life, but I think it made my mental illness worse.

    Nonetheless, I support mandatory reporting laws, though I do not think therapists should be mandated to report on the thoughts of adult clients (though I think child psychologists should be mandated to report).

    But anyways, that’s my abuse narrative.

    Like

Leave a Reply

